Recent News Items

The 2015 ACC in Chicago co-hosted the annual “Beauty of Controls” workshop for middle and high school teachers and students.  These workshops have been held twice a year in conjunction with the ACC, CDC and IFAC Meetings and Congresses.

Sunday, November 29, 2015

At the 2015 summer Board of Directors meeting, Dr. Richard D. Braatz was elected as incoming Vice President of the AACC.  He will start that role in January of 2016.  Current VP Glenn Masada will become President, and President Tariq Samad will rotate to Past President.  The leadership progression is a six year commitment.

Monday, October 26, 2015

The 2015 American Control Conference (ACC), July 1–3, was held at the Hilton Palmer House, in downtown Chicago, Illinois, just minutes away from Lake Michigan, city parks, museums, the theater district, and most of Chicago’s landmarks. The conference had 954 accepted papers, 19 parallel sessions, 45 invited sessions, 12 special sessions, 11 workshops, 18 exhibits, and attracted more than 1450 registrants from more than 60 countries. In parallel with the 19 sessions was a one-day workshop for high school students and teachers on “The Power, Beauty and Excitement of Cross-Boundaries Nature of Control, a Field that Spans Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics.”

Monday, October 26, 2015

President's Message

Photo of President - Tariq SamadWelcome to the American Automatic Control Council (AACC, aka A2C2)!  AACC is an umbrella organization encompassing the groups and individuals of member societies with an interest in control science and engineering.  At present AACC has eight member societies:  AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics), AIChE (American Institute of Chemical Engineers), ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers), ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers), IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), ISA (International Society of Automation), SCS (Society for Modeling & Simulation International), and SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics).  As is evident from the diversity of these organizations, the existence of AACC is an endorsement of the fact that control, both in its theory and in its applications, transcends traditional engineering disciplines.  In the U.S., AACC is the leading organization responsible for pursuing these cross-disciplinary connections and collaborations for broad-based societal impact.