You are here

John R. Ragazzini Education Award

The Ragazzini Award is given to recognize outstanding contributions to automatic control education in any form. These contributions can be from any source and in any media, i.e., electronic, publications, courses, etc.

Stephen P. Boyd

For excellence in classroom teaching, textbook and monograph preparation, and undergraduate and graduate mentoring of students in the area of systems, control, and optimization

Stephen P. Boyd is the Samsung Professor of Engineering, Professor of Electrical Engineering, and Director of the Information Systems Laboratory at Stanford University. His current interests include computer-aided control system design, and convex programming applications in control, signal processing, and circuit design. Professor Boyd received an AB degree in Mathematics, summa cum laude, from Harvard University in 1980, and a PhD in EECS from U. C. Berkeley in 1985. In 1985 he joined the faculty of Stanford's Electrical Engineering Department.

Manfred Morari

For outstanding contributions in control education through monographs, software, the establishment of control programs and the mentoring of a large number of outstanding graduate students

Manfred Morari was appointed head of the Automatic Control Laboratory at ETH Zurich in 1994. Before that he was the McCollum-Corcoran Professor of Chemical Engineering and Executive Officer for Control and Dynamical Systems at the California Institute of Technology. He obtained the diploma from ETH Zurich and the Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota, both in chemical engineering. His interests are in predictive and robust control and hybrid systems with applications to the control of automotive, mechatronic and biomedical systems.

S. Shankar Sastry

For outstanding contributions to education in adaptive, nonlinear and hybrid control systems, and robotics through mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students, development of textbooks, course materials, and experimental laboratories

S. Shankar Sastry is currently the Director of CITRIS (Center forInformation Technology in the Interests of Society) an interdisciplinarycenter spanning UC Berkeley, Davis, Merced and SantaCruz. He served as Chairman, Department of Electrical Engineeringand Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley fromJanuary, 2001 through June 2004. In 2000, he served as Director ofthe Information Technology Office at DARPA.

George Stephanopoulos

For outstanding contributions in process control and systems engineering education through classroom teaching, textbook and monograph publication, and graduate student mentorship

George Stephanopoulos is Arthur D. Little Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He received a Diploma in Chemical Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens in 1970, a Masters in Engineering degree from McMaster University in 1971, and a Ph.D. from the University of Florida in 1974. Before joining MIT, George was a professor at the University of Minnesota and the National Technical University of Athens.

Stephen Yurkovich

For leadership in control education through curriculum and laboratory development, for contributions in continuing education for control engineers in industry, and for promotion of student involvement in engineering professionalism

Stephen Yurkovich is a Fellow of the IEEE, and holds a joint appointment as Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering at The Ohio State University, where he served as Acting Director of the Center for Automotive Research in 2007. In 2000 he was awarded the IEEE Control Systems Society Distinguished Member Award, and an IEEE Third Millennium Medal. Professor Yurkovich has won numerous awards at Ohio State University for his research focused on the theory and applications of control systems, in numerous application areas.

Masayoshi Tomizuka


Masayoshi Tomizuka is the Cheryl and John Neerhout, Jr., DistinguishedProfessor of the College of Engineering, at the University of California, Berkeley.He was born in Tokyo, Japan in 1946. He received his B.S. and M.S. degrees inMechanical Engineering from Keio University, Tokyo, Japan and his Ph. D. degreein Mechanical Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 13 February 1974. He joined the faculty of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley in 1974.

Mark W. Spong

For outstanding contributions to control education through course, textbook, and laboratory development, and the invention and commercialization of innovative laboratory experiments

Mark W. Spong is the Donald Biggar Willett Professor of Engineering, Professor of General Engineering, and Research Professor in the Coordinated Science Laboratory at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.His current interests include nonlinear control theory, mechatronics, and robotics.He received the B.A. degree, magna cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa, in mathematics and physics from Hiram College in 1975, the M.S. degree in mathematics from New Mexico State University in 1977, and the M.S. and D.Sc.

Tzyh Jong Tarn

For substantial contributions to control education through teaching, mentoring of graduate students, and research in control theory and applications to robotics

Tzyh Jong Tarn is currently a Professor in the Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering and the Director of the Center for Robotics and Automation at Washington University. He also is the director of the Center for Quantum Information Science and Technology at Tsinghua University, Beijing and the distinguished chair professor in the Department of Physics at National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan. An active member of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society, Dr.