You are here

Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award

The Bellman Award is given for distinguished career contributions to the theory or application of automatic control. It is the highest recognition of professional achievement for US control systems engineers and scientists. The recipient must have spent a significant part of his/her career in the USA. The awardee is strongly encouraged to give a plenary presentation at the ACC Awards Luncheon.

Hendrik W. Bode


Hendrik Wade Bode was born 24 December 1905, in Madison, Wisconsin. He attended High School in Urbana, Illinois, and Normal School in Tempe, Arizona. Continuing his education, he received his B.A. Degree in 1924 from Ohio State University and his M.A. Degree from the same institution in 1926. During this time, he was a teaching assistant for one year.

Roger W. Brockett

In recognition of his leading role in the development of stability theory, linear systems theory, nonlinear control theory, and robotics.

Roger W. Brockett, a pioneer in control systems theory, began his career at MIT in 1963 before joining the faculty at Harvard in 1969.

Walter R. Evans

For his very significant contribution to the field of automatic control systems analysis and synthesis by inventing the root-locus technique.

Walter Richard Evans (January 15, 1920 – July 10, 1999) was a noted American control theorist and the inventor of the root locus method in 1948.