You are here

Professor Tamer Başar

Professor Tamer Başar
Swanlund Endowed Chair and Professor
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Tamer Başar has been with the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign since 1981, where he currently holds the academic positions of Swanlund Endowed Chair; Center for Advanced Study Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Professor, Coordinated Science Laboratory; Professor, Information Trust Institute; and Affiliate Professor, Mechanical Sciences and Engineering. Since 2014, he also holds the administrative position of Director of the Center for Advanced Study, and prior to that he was the Director of the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. He received his BSEE degree from Robert College (Istanbul) in 1969, and MS, MPhil, and Ph.D. degrees from Yale University (New Haven), during the period 1970-1972. Başar is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering and the European Academy of Sciences; Fellow of IEEE, IFAC, and SIAM; a past president of the IEEE Control Systems Society (CSS), the founding (and past) president of the International Society of Dynamic Games (ISDG), and a past president of the American Automatic Control Council (AACC). He was a member of the IFAC Council during the period 2011-2014, and is currently Chair of the IFAC Publications committee (2014-2017). He has received several awards and recognitions over the years, among which are (in reverse chronological order): IEEE Control Systems (Technical Field) Award (2014), Honorary Chair Professorship from Tsinghua University, Beijing, China (2014), Honorary Doctorate (Doctor Honoris Causa) from Bogaziçi University, Istanbul (2012), SIAM Fellow (2012), Honorary Doctorate from the National Academy of Sciences of Azerbaijan (2011), Isaacs Award of ISDG (2010), Honorary Professorship from Northeastern University, Shenyang, China (2008), Swanlund Endowed Chair at UIUC (2007), Honorary Doctorate (Doctor Honoris Causa) from Doguş University, Istanbul (2007), Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award of AACC (2006), Giorgio Quazza Medal of IFAC (2005), Outstanding Service Award of IFAC (2005), IFAC Fellow (2005), Hendrik W. Bode Lecture Prize of the IEEE CSS (2004), election to the National Academy of Engineering (of the USA) (2000), IEEE Millennium Medal (2000), Axelby Outstanding Paper Award (1995) and Distinguished Member Award (1993) of the IEEE CSS, and Medal of Science of Turkey (1993). He has over 800 publications in systems, control, communications, optimization, networks, and dynamic games, including books on non-cooperative dynamic game theory, robust control, network security, wireless and communication networks, and stochastic networks. He was Editor-in-Chief of the IFAC Journal Automatica during the period 2004-2014, and is currently editor of several book series.