You are here

News Items - Archive (older than 2 years)

Primary tabs

The American Automatic Control Council sponsors five awards, to recognize excellence in scientific, technological, or educational contributions to automatic control.  Congratulations to this year’s winners: Thomas F. Edgar, Magnus Egerstedt, Francis J. Doyle III, Aaron D. Ames, Richard P. Mason, Antonis Papachristodoulou, Matthew Bellman, Teng-Hu Cheng, Ryan J. Downey, and Warren Dixon.  Use the Awards Programs menu to link to award descriptions, citations, and background for the recipients.  Also each ACC determines the best student paper.  Congratulations to Hector E. Perez and his faculty mentor Scott Moura

Thursday, July 2, 2015

The first American Control Conference was held in 1982 at Arlington, VA.  Since that time, is has grown in scope, attendees, and activities.  Figure 1 shows registrations for the ACC over the most recent ten-year period increasing at a rate of about 35 attendees per year, which we attribute as an indicator of the quality and relevance of the technical program.   Each third year (2008, 2011, 2014) seems to show a consistent decrease in attendees.  This is not surprising since these conferences are held during the same year as the IFAC World Congress. 

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

The 2016 American Control Conference will be held Wednesday through Friday, July 6–8 at the award-winning Boston Marriott Copley Place.

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Here’s an interesting story:  The name for AACC assigned by the Internal Revenue Service was the “American Automatic Control Council Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn”.  Former AACC Treasurer Jordan Berg discovered that it had been that way from May 11, 1964, when the IRS granted the 501 (c) 3 status to the AACC, to just recently, after current AACC Treasurer Linda Bushnell sent a letter to the IRS in June 2014 requesting the change. Our official IRS name has now returned to the original (from the founding on March 16, 1957) “American Automatic Control Council.”  Yea!

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

After selection by the Steering Committee and approval by the Board of Directors, AACC is pleased to announce that Douglas A. Lawrence will be the General Chair for the 2019 ACC, and Santosh Devasia for the 2020 ACC.   

Tuesday, March 3, 2015