All Awards


To access details such as award nomination forms, deadlines, and recipient information, click on the award title in the Summary of Awards to visit the corresponding award page.

AACC Awards

The American Automatic Control Council sponsors five awards. These awards are given to recognize excellence in scientific, technological, or educational contributions to automatic control. The deadline for submission of award nominations is Dec. 1 of the year previous to the award year. This is a hard deadline.

Nomination packages may be carried over as follows. Nominations received in year Y can be held over and considered as nominees again in years Y+1 and Y+2. Updates to the nomination package are encouraged, but optional. Note that for the Eckman award, the nominee must still be eligible. If the nominee does not win the award by year Y+2, the nominee cannot be considered in years Y+3 and Y+4. Re-nomination with a new nomination package can be made in year Y+5.

Summary of Awards

  • Control Engineering Practice Award


    The Control Engineering Practice Award is given to one individual or one team to be selected from those nominated for significant contribution to the advancement of control practice.

  • Donald P. Eckman Award


    The Eckman Award recognizes an outstanding young engineer in the field of automatic control.

  • O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award


    The O. Hugo Schuck Award recognizes up to one application paper and one theory paper that was published in the ACC conference proceedings and presented at the previous ACC by the author.